Getting Ready for Spring at Longlips Farm

To quote the Christmas song, the weather outside is frightful. We’ve had cold temps and high winds for most of March – when it isn’t snowing! I’ve been out in the garden getting ready for spring and since spring has yet to arrive, I took a detour to visit Longlips Farm to check on how my friend, Lenora Larson gets ready. Gardening for Lenora never seems to stop and by the time I was done with my tour, I had 30 photographs! So here are some highlights.

Spring-Last-IMG_1939

MULCH is the first sign of spring at Longlips. With Lenora standing in front, you can see the height of her mulch pile – and this is her second! You can also tell how windy it is – we had gusts over 40 MPH today!

Spring-1-IMG_1966

Lenora makes most of her own garden art. Here is this year’s project – old tractor seats painted to look like flowers in the Longlips “official” color purple.

Spring-Art-1-IMG_1961

Past projects include my personal favorite. Lenora spent several years making these concrete blocks with mosaic tiles and used them as part of her walking path.

Spring-Art-4-IMG_1950

Tropical plants like this Lantana overwinter in the basement.

Spring-Trop-IMG_1962

And cuttings in gel are being prepared for planting.

Spring-Tropicals-2-IMG_1953

And down by the lake, a goose is laying eggs.

SPRING-2-IMG_1963

Plenty to do and maybe the weather will cooperate. Soon?

7 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Spring at Longlips Farm

  1. Looks like a great place to visit. Loved the healthy leaves in the gel. The begonias and geraniums I use as cuttings never look that nice! I don’t think Spring is coming. I think it will blow right through and we’ll just wake up one day and find summer is upon us?!!!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m hoping to show Longlips through the year – a truly amazing garden! And yes, I think we’ll have winter followed by summer. It was almost 80 degrees here today but very windy.

  2. Great photos! I look forward to your next visit when there is more color and all the garden art is back outdoors frolicking among the plants.

Comment Here

