Bonus Blog – Breakfast and Dinner and Weeds

I’m racing to keep up with what’s happening in the garden. Seeds planted in our raised beds have now turned into plants, hungry for water and attention. But I’ve started to reap the benefits. Yesterday, I ate both breakfast and dinner from the garden.

We’ve been harvesting asparagus for about 90 days. This may be the last of it in a yummy egg and goat cheese omelet for breakfast.

Breakfast-IMG_2147

And now … drum roll, please … the first bit of spinach this year, grown from seed sown directly in the garden.

Breakfast-2-IMG_2145

Paired with corn-on-the-cob, which I didn’t grow.

Breakfast-3-IMG_2149

And now for an update on Weeds.

First, a correction. Dandelions are a perennial weed. Thanks to everyone who helped me identify that error in my notes!

Next, let me introduce you to horse-nettle.

Noxiousweed-IMG_2139

This noxious and thorny plant is growing among my Autumn Joy Sedum. The sedum originally was planted around a pond (now filled in). Moved and divided many times, it thrives in front of the barn.

Breakfast-4

I started finding horse-nettle about three years ago. Now that Lenora Larson graciously identified it for me and I’ve had a chance to check it out, I understand why it’s so difficult to destroy! Horse-nettle, or Solanum carolinense, is a member of the nightshade family – same as tomatoes, potatoes, and eggplant. A perennial, it spreads by seed and underground rhizomes. Oh yeah, it’s spreading like wildfire…

The darn thing is also resistant to post-emergent and broad-spectrum herbicides. One of the articles I read indicated that herbicides can “select” for horse-nettle by killing the competing weeds!

Did I mention thorns? I have to use my heaviest leather gloves when cutting it back! Just so you know, the fruit is poisonous.

Meanwhile, it’s time for the sedum to be divided. This fall after they bloom, I’ll need to make a decision about where to go with them in the garden to get away from horse-nettle.

8 thoughts on “Bonus Blog – Breakfast and Dinner and Weeds

  1. Breakfast looks so delicious, can you deliver? I’m glad to learn about the horse-nettle. It has shown up several places and I’ve “let it go” to be sure it really was a weed. It definitely is a villain!

    • My culinary talents don’t extend to catering – but it would be fun to have breakfast together!! Good luck with the horse-nettle. I have instructions to pull the root from the bottom of the plant.

Comment Here

