From Seed to Sauce

Back in July, I wrote about our Tomato Insanity, a bumper crop of tomatoes from just two plants. I gave away sacks of tomatoes, made salad and salsa, and still they kept coming. An article from the University of Nebraska suggested I freeze tomatoes for cooking. And so I did.

This week, with my son and daughter-in-law coming for a post-holiday feed, I decided to make sauce.

Spaghetti-01-IMG_2586

Working with freezer tomatoes has one big positive. I used warm water from the tap to peel them – an amazingly quick and easy process. No boiling water, no scorched finger tips, virtually no mess.

Spaghetti-02-IMG_2588

Here is my recipe for spaghetti sauce:

    One minced yellow onion
    Three minced garlic cloves
    2 TBSP olive oil
    1 TBSP sea salt (or to taste)
    1 TBSP mixed peppercorns
    18-24 frozen tomatoes, diced and mashed
    Water or red wine to just cover
    Fresh basil to taste
    Fresh oregano to taste
    1/4 tsp nutmeg

In a soup pot, cook the onion in olive oil on medium heat until translucent (about 5 minutes). Add the garlic for about two minutes. Add the tomatoes, salt and spices, then the water or wine. Cook, stirring frequently and mashing tomatoes until you see a sauce-like consistency. Taste and adjust the salt and spices as needed. Allow the sauce to cool, then run it through the blender.

Spaghetti-03-IMG_2591

A basic but tasty sauce. I made some bison meatballs, some grain-free focaccia bread, and what seem to be called ‘zoodles’ – noodles from zucchini squash.

Spaghetti-04A-IMG_2596

I added a salad, real pasta for the less adventurous – although everyone tried a zoodle – and there you have it. A non-traditional, post holiday meal from the garden.

IMG_2595

12 thoughts on “From Seed to Sauce

  1. Wow! I had no idea you could freeze tomatoes like that..! Making note to Remember that next year. I’ve tasted zoodles before, but never made them myself; must try! I didn’t think I could ever be hungry again, but I think you’ve stirred the old appetite…

    • I stumbled on this U of Nebraska article by accident – I had no idea I could freeze tomatoes. They aren’t good for eating after being frozen, but great for things like sauce and chili.

  2. We’ve always used frozen tomatoes-my mom gets lazy and doesn’t peel them sometimes but that just gags me. I think it’s the best way to deal with them. Your meal looks wonderful. How did everyone like the zoodles? I’m not a big fan but I like spaghetti squash and others don’t care for that.

    • The zoodles were a moderate success. Jim, who doesn’t like squash, said at least they don’t taste like squash! With enough sauce, they are okay. I like spaghetti squash too, but this year, the squash in the grocery looked tired!

Comment Here

