What is it?

Whatisit-01-IMG_3414

This is a woody tropical plant that I bought last summer. Inside all winter, it struggled. I had it in a north window – the only window available – and the leaves turned from light pink to pale green. This summer, I put it outside in an area with filtered morning sun.

Whatisit-02-IMG_3413

The plant turned bright, neon pink over time. With regular watering, it’s also grown large and even more woody. It hasn’t shown any signs of flowering and I wonder if it’s glory lies in those bright pink leaves.

Whatisit-03

Anyone know what it is? Probably something common. I’m just not good with plant identification yet. I keep meaning to email Flower Farm where I bought it, but haven’t made time to do that yet.

Not looking forward to bringing it back inside this fall.

6 thoughts on “What is it?

  1. Threadleaf Alternatheria–also called Joseph’s Coat. I have one in a pot that I’ve been taking in every winter for 15 years. A very fine plant.

  2. We have a big one and I inherited it from an old lady who called it “Joseph’s Coat of Many Colors” but I have no idea what it might really be called.

    • Ah – according to Lenora Larson, it is a threadleaf alternatheria and is also called Joseph’s coat. So you are right. See, I knew it was relatively common. It clearly needs lots of light and lots of water, which it won’t get at my house through the winter. I may have to foster it out in October. Wish you lived closer!!

Comment Here

